Skip to content

Reed, Wicker Announce SASC Membership for 118th Congress

Today, U.S. Senator Jack Reed (D-RI), Chairman of the Senate Armed Services Committee (SASC), and U.S. Senator Roger Wicker (R-MS), incoming Ranking Member of the Senate Armed Services Committee, announced the full roster of SASC members for the 118th Congress.

“I am honored to lead the Committee along with Senator Roger Wicker,” said Chairman Reed. “He is a dedicated public servant, an Air Force veteran, and a real expert on defense and national security issues. We previously led the Seapower Subcommittee together several years ago and I know Roger to be thoughtful, resolute, and fair. 

“Together with our colleagues on the Committee, we will continue our bipartisan traditions of rigorous oversight of the Department of Defense and working together to pass a strong National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA). 

“This Committee’s mission is to prioritize America’s national security needs and advance our common defense,” continued Chairman Reed. “We will have an ambitious schedule of hearings and will strive together to match resources with strategic objectives while providing our forces with an enduring advantage, now and in the future.”

Wicker also commented: “Providing for the common defense is one of the most important constitutional duties entrusted to Congress and it is my great honor to join Senator Jack Reed in this effort. Chairman Reed is a proud Army veteran and a stalwart champion for our national defense and not only the state of Rhode Island, but also the whole United States. Through my years of work with Chairman Reed, I have come to know him as a fair and judicious voice who is able to bring people together in support of a shared mission, and we will continue that bipartisan work. During the most dangerous time since the Cold War, it is crucial to work as partners to enhance deterrence and counter our adversaries for the long haul.

“I also look forward to working with the other members of the Senate Armed Services Committee. We owe it to our service members and other talented national security professionals to continue our important work with the seriousness and professionalism it requires.”

Senator Reed first joined the Senate Armed Services Committee in 1998 and became the Ranking Member of the panel in 2015. In 2021, Reed became Chairman of the Committee.

Senator Wicker has been a member of the Committee since 2008.

The Committee majority includes 13 members, and the minority includes 12 members. SASC membership of the 118th Congress includes:


  • Senator Jack Reed (D-RI) – Chairman
  • Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)
  • Senator Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY)
  • Senator Richard Blumenthal (D-CT)
  • Senator Mazie Hirono (D-HI)
  • Senator Tim Kaine (D-VA)
  • Senator Angus King (I-ME)
  • Senator Elizabeth Warren (D-MA)
  • Senator Gary Peters (D-MI)
  • Senator Joe Manchin (D-WV)
  • Senator Tammy Duckworth (D-IL)
  • Senator Jacky Rosen (D-NV)
  • Senator Mark Kelly (D-AZ)


  • Senator Roger Wicker (R-MS) – Ranking Member
  • Senator Deb Fischer (R-NE)
  • Senator Tom Cotton (R-AR)
  • Senator Mike Rounds (R-SD)
  • Senator Joni Ernst (R-IA)
  • Senator Dan Sullivan (R-AK)
  • Senator Kevin Cramer (R-ND)
  • Senator Rick Scott (R-FL)
  • Senator Tommy Tuberville (R-AL)
  • Senator Markwayne Mullin (R-OK)
  • Senator Ted Budd (R-NC)
  • Senator Eric Schmitt (R-MO)

After the Committee fully organizes in the near future there will be an announcement about subcommittee leadership and membership for the 118th Congress.